Book Review | This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi

Genre(s): Contemporary
Age Level: Young Adult Fantasy
Release Date: February 1, 2022
Publisher: Harper Collins


*Trigger Warnings: abuse, injury, medical content, death of a parent, mistreatment


Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

3.5 out of 5 stars


Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi. 



*Includes some very minor spoilers*

This story was a very intriguing and intricate fantasy story. I felt a lot of An Ember In The Ashes vibes from this one as it dealt mainly with a male and female character from two very different walks of life – the female in a poor/servant position and the male in a privileged position wanting to help the female.

I was pleasantly surprised as the story quickly sucked me in through the intriguing history of the world, magic system, and mysterious characters. I had to keep reading to try and piece together what was going on because although we got glimpses into the thoughts and lives of the characters, there was still a lot that didn’t make sense because we didn’t know the whole story. I believe the author wrote the story like this on purpose to draw readers in – and it did just that!

Halfway into the book, I was still intrigued but also still confused and I felt myself getting a little bit impatient and felt like I was losing interest.

Luckily, things started piecing together and picking up very soon after that so I was back on track until the end.

I enjoyed that the romance was slow-burn. These are one of my favourite types of romance because the relationship grows so slowly that there is a lot of anticipation. Once the romance started picking up, it was very exciting to see them together in a romantic way. 

One thing I will say is that I felt that their slow-burn romance was super slow at the beginning but then one scene happened where they suddenly started kissing. This felt kind of sudden for me and I would have enjoyed it more if their flirting and eventual kissing was even more gradual and realistic. Alizeh was very hesitant and closed off before so it would make a lot of sense if she was still hesitant towards Kamran for a while; it would’ve been nice to see him earn her trust and gain her friendship a little bit more before she fell for him.

Overall, I enjoyed this book – it was adventurous, mysterious, and tells a story of a brave girl that is a lot more powerful than she may know herself. Although this is a common storyline, this story is written in a unique way and plunges readers into the middle eastern world. I probably would’ve liked the book more if the plotline moved forward quicker and more things happened. In a way, while I can see that the trilogy is plot-based, this first book was also very much character-based as we got to know the two main characters a lot and less happened event-wise.

Do I recommend this book? I do! And I am excited to pick up the second book when it comes out.

*A big thank you to Harper Collins and HCC Frenzy for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest and fair review.


It releases tomorrow!

This Woven Kingdom releases tomorrow & I’m excited to hear what your thoughts are of this story. Is it on your tbr? Will you add it to if it’s not? Let me know!

Published by Andrea's Book Corner

Lover of books, book reviewer, book blogger & YA fantasy author in progress! WIP: Project Arenegedden

2 thoughts on “Book Review | This Woven Kingdom by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: